Habari Entertainment

News Our Way

Biden admin announces travel ban for South Africa and 7 other countries, citing new variant

The Biden administration announced plans on Friday to ban travel to the United States from South Africa and seven other countries, just hours after a new coronavirus variant was deemed a highly transmissible virus of concern.

The travel restrictions will begin Monday, according to a senior administration official, affecting South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique and Malawi. The administration’s decision was in response to advice from Anthony Fauci, the president’s chief medical adviser, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

%d bloggers like this: